If you're using the Ziik web app you can find the Groups module in the left-hand side menu. Simply click it once and you'll be greeted by two tabs, one titled "My Groups" and another one titled "Available Groups". From here you'll be able to create, join, and delete groups as well as to add content to them. 

How to Create a Group

Once again you'll have to consult the familiar plus sign which can be found next to the group search bar. Upon clicking it, a set-up window will be opened which will allow you to give the group a name, describe its purpose, and to assign it a specific type. 

There are three group types available and each has certain implications in terms of the groups visibility and accessibility:

  • Public: The group is visible to all users and everyone can join.
  • Private: The group is visible to all users but they have to apply for membership.
  • Hidden: The group is only visible to its members and membership works on an invite-only basis.

As the group administrator you can go back and change the group setting at any point in time.

Additionally, you can choose to upload a group icon by dragging an image file into the window titled "Drag files here to upload". Alternatively, you can click the same window which will allow you to select the desired file from the finder.

How to Edit and/or Delete a Group

The only user who's able to edit the settings or delete the group in its entirety is the group's admin. If you are the admin and wish to do either of those things you'll first of all have to click on the group's name which can be seen in the top bar of the window. Doing so will open the group menu where you'll have to select the little cog in the top right hand corner. At this point you'll be presented with 3 options. Depending on what you want to do you now just have to select the option that correspondents to it. In case you decide to edit the group you'll be met by the same set-up window you've already encountered when creating the group.

How to Join a Group

To get an overview of the groups that you can either join or apply for you'll have to go to the "Available Groups" tab. In order to now you join one of the available groups you simply have to click on the desired group. This will prompt a small window which asks you to confirm that you do in fact want to become a member of the given group. 

You can tell whether or not you'll have to apply for a group by having a look if its private or public. Ziik will tell you what type of group you're looking at at the right end of the group's list entry. If it's public you'll be able to join right away, whereas, if it's private you'll have to apply first and wait for the group administrator to confirm your membership.

How to Leave a Group

Should you wish to leave a group that you're currently a member of you can do so by entering the group's menu and clicking the cog icon in the top right hand corner. Now you just have to select the leave group option and you're out.

If you're the group's admin you won't be able to leave the group before you've promoted someone else to group admin. To do so you'll have to go to the member list and click the cog icon next to the member that you want to promote. Here you then simply need to select promote.

How to Add Contacts to a Group

The ability to add people is reserved for the admin of the group. If you are the admin and you'd like to add someone to your group the first thing you'll have to do is to click the on the name of your group in the top bar of the window. This will open the group's settings where you can click "ADD MEMBER" which will allow you to select the people you'd like to add from a list of contacts. What is especially helpful with regards to finding a specific colleague is the search bar above the list of contacts. Simple search for whomever you'd like to become a member of your group and click on the trusty plus sign next to her or his name. 

Another handy feature with regards to adding specific user types are the filters. To take advantage of this feature you have to click on "Filter" and then press the plus sign next to the empty text field on the right. This will prompt a list of all available user types which will allow you to either enable or disable sliders for the individual types. If you go back to your list of potential contact to add it will now only display users that are of the user type(s) you've just selected.

How to Post in a Group

To post something in a group that you're a member of you first of all have to click the text box at the top of your group feed which says "Create new debate". Once you've done that you can start typing.

You'll notice that their are three icons inside the text box: a camera, an at symbol, and a smiley. These three icons represent different functions you can use in conjunction with your group post. Starting with the camera, the camera allows you to attach any type of file to your post (not just images). Moving on to the at sign (@), it allows you to tag another member in your post. You don't have to actually click the at sign, you can simply write "@" and type the name of the user you want to tag. And last but not least, you can also add emojis to your post by clicking the emoji on the right and selecting the desired emojis from the menu.

All you have left to do, now that you've finished your post, is to press the blue paper airplane on the right and your post will appear in the group and in the news feeds of the other group members.

How to Edit / Delete Posts and Comments

Let us assume that you have just started a new debate or just chimed in on an ongoing debate. After doing so you realise that you have made a mistake, perhaps you have misspelt something or your contribution is factually wrong. In either case, there is no reason to worry since you will be able to either edit or even delete your post within 15 minutes of posting it.

Here is how you either delete or edit a group post or comment:

  1. Click the downward arrow in the top right-hand corner of your post or comment.
  2. From the dropdown menu select either "edit" or "delete", depending on what you want to do.
  3. Follow the instructions on screen.

An important thing to keep in mind is that once 15 minutes have passed you will no longer be able to remove or edit your post. This is for the sake of continuity, i.e. to avoid breaking up ongoing debates and to ensure that earlier debates remain intact.

There is one exemption from this rule. If you are the group administrator you will be able to delete both your own posts and comments as well as those of others at any point in time. Thus, should you find yourself in a situation where you need to delete one of your posts after the 15 minutes have passed you should try to contact an administrator and ask him to delete it for you.

What's next?

Groups are a powerful communication tool that allow you to communicate effectively across your entire organisation. It's, however, to understand when you should use a group instead of the chat or news posts. To gain some intuition as to when which mean of communication is most appropriate we'd recommend you our best practice article on when and how to use Groups How and when to best use Groups. Furthermore, we'd recommend you to read our article on the News Feed feature How does My Feed work, since the group function is closely tied in with it.

Feel free to read about how Groups works on a mobile device by reading this article How does Groups work (Mobile).

Did this answer your question?