Before you can begin to add or manage your units you'll have to select the Contacts module which you can find under the "Help and Information" section of your side bar. Here you simply have to choose the "People" category from the list on the left and then you're ready to go.
At this point it is also important to mention that your user type needs to be allowed to actually administer users. Permissions can be set for individual user types by clicking the cog icon in the top left hand corner and selecting "Administer User Types" from the drop-down menu. Be aware however, that you need to be a system administrator to be able to make changes to your own or anyone else's permissions.
How to Create a Single User
In order to add a new user to Ziik you'll have to begin by either pressing the plus sign or "Create user" in the top right hand corner.'
Doing so will open a blank user profile which you can now fill in to match your new user. Optionally, you can decide to send a welcome email to the user by selecting this option at the bottom of his or her profile while you're filling it in. This welcome email will amongst other things include a direct link to your Ziik system.
Be aware that it is possible to assign the same user to several different user types. You can do this by simply selecting multiple user types when setting up a new user.
How to Create Multiple Users
If you'd like to create several users at once you can do so by utilising Ziik's upload function. To use it simply click the upload icon next to "Create user". The system will now ask you to upload a spreadsheet file containing information about the users that you'd like to create within Ziik. When you've uploaded your file you'll be asked to match the headers in your spreadsheet with the headers used by the system. Your headers will be auto-match if they're already correctly labelled.The system requires you to at least include the following information about the users in your spreadsheet:
- First name
- Last name
- User type
In addition to this compulsory information you can also include further information such as the user's job title, phone number, or birthday.
How to Delete a User
In case you need to remove a user you can do so by selecting his profile from the People grid in contacts. Once you've found his profile simply click "Delete account" in the top right hand corner. Doing so will prompt the system to ask you whether you want to delete the user without transfer or you want to transfer his content to another user. Now what does this mean?
To transfer content to another user simply means transferring the owner status of certain content from one user to another. It is important to note that the only content/data for which the owner status can be transferred is shared/public content. So even when you decide to transfer someone's content to another user, this user won't get access to the previous user's private messages, folder, and files.
Should you decide to delete a user without transfer, then their private files, folders and events will be removed from your workspace. Furthermore, the shared content which they have created (e.g. news posts, handbooks, FAQs, events and folders) will retain the deleted user as their author. Thus, once the retention period has passed and the user has been anonymised, all their content will be listed as "published by deleted user".
Even though this does not mean that this content is lost, it does mean that you run the risk of losing the ability of editing the author-less content. If the user that you are deleting has previously created content for a subunit and you do not transfer this content to a new user, then no user will be able to manage it. This is because the only users who can see the content in question are those that are part of the given subunit. And since users that belong to a subunit cannot edit content published by a parent unit they will be unable to manage it. The only users who can manage this content are those belonging to a unit higher up in the hierarchy, however, they cannot see it because it was only published in the subunit.
Now, if you instead transfer the about-to-be-deleted user's content to another user, this new user will take over the role as author, which will be displayed accordingly. This means that you avoid the problem of not being able to manage certain content. More generally, you might also find it helpful to have an assigned author who is responsible for a given piece of content, since this would mean that there is a point-of-contact for other user's to reach out to if they have questions or feedback.
How to Edit a User's Information, Settings, and Password
As an administrator you're able to edit the general information kept about user, including his e-mail address, phone number and job title, as well has his notification settings and password. To do any of this you'll first have to go to his profile. Once there, you'll be find three tabs at the top of it: Profile, Notifications, and Settings. At this point you'll just have to select the tab relevant to you and go ahead and amend the settings or information as appropriate. When you're done the Ziik will automatically save any changes that have been made.
How to Change a User's User Type(s)
Changing a user's user type(s) can be done by first going to his profile and then finding his current user type(s) all the way at the bottom. Simply click it and a selection menu will appear which includes all existing user types. You can now either add additional user types to their profile or simply change their user type from one to another.
How to Change a User's Unit
Switching a user's unit affiliation can be done by heading to his profile and scrolling down to where it states his current unit. If you now click on his current unit a selection menu will open which displays all available units. All you have to do now is to select the unit that you want to reassign the user to.
How to Manage a User's Specialities
A user's specialities can be viewed by opening his profile and going all the way to the bottom of it. Here you'll be able edit his specialities by clicking the plus icon which will prompt a window showing all the specialities that can be associated with a user. From this you'll be able to select the specialities associated with that user.
Users in Ziik are essentially bound by their type and unit in terms of what they're able to see and do. If you want to learn more about user types and permissions, as well as how to set these up, we'd recommend you read our article about it in our set-up section How to manage User Types and Permissions. In addition to this, we'd also suggest you read our article about Ziik's hierarchy in general How does Ziik's hierarchy work.
In case you're now wondering how to best get a new user started you can find an article about exactly this in our best practice section How to best get a new user started.
To download the import function Excel template click here.
Feel free to read about how Contacts works on a mobile device by reading this article How does Contacts work (Mobile).