In order to find the Groups module in your smartphone app you simply have to click the silhouette icon in the middle of the menu-bar along the bottom of the screen.

Once your inside the Groups module you'll be able to join, create, and delete groups, engage in debates, as well as access all the files that have been shared in the your groups.

How to Create a Group

All you have to do to begin creating a new group is to click the familiar plus sign in the top right corner. 

This will open up a set-up window which will ask you to give the group a name, describe its purpose, and to decide which type of group you want it to be. There are three group types available and each has certain implications in terms of the groups visibility and accessibility:

  • Public: The group is visible to all users and everyone can join.
  • Private: The group is visible to all users but in order to become a member one has to either be invited or apply.
  • Hidden: The group is only visible to its members and membership works on an invite-only basis.

As the group administrator you can go back and change the group setting at any point in time.

Additionally, you can choose to upload a group icon by taping on the camera symbol next to the name field. This will allow you to either select a photo from your library or to snap a new picture.

How the Different Types of Groups Work

Essentially, the type of a group dictates to whom it is visible, as well as how users are able to join it. A public group is visible to everyone and you can be become a member of a public group by simply adding it to your groups. A private group is also visible to everyone, however, if you want to become a member you'll first have to apply for membership and wait for confirmation from the group admin. Lastly, hidden groups aren't visible to anyone besides its members. Users are added on an invitation-only basis and you cannot apply for membership in a hidden group.

How to Join a Group

To get an overview of the groups that are available to you simply select the tab titled "Other Groups". You'll now see a list of all the public groups that are part of your organisation. All you have to join one of them is to select your group of choice. Following this, Ziik will ask you whether you want to join the group or not to which you simply have to respond yes.

How to Leave a Group

Should you wish to leave a group that you're currently a member of you can do so by clicking the "..." icon in the top right hand corner. Now you just have to select the leave group option and you're out.

If you're the group's admin you won't be able to leave the group before you've promoted someone else to group admin. However, you're unable to do this in the mobile app and will thus have to use the desktop application for this.

How to Edit and/or Delete a Group

Should you wish to edit or delete your group you can do so by clicking the "..." icon in the top right hand corner. Keep in mind that your only able to do this if you're the admin of the group. Pressing the icon will prompt a selection menu which will allow you to either edit the group or delete it. If you choose to edit the group you'll be greeted by the same set-up window that you had to navigate when creating the group. 

How to Add Contacts to a Group

The ability to add people is reserved for the admin of the group. If you are the admin and you'd like to add someone to your group the first thing you'll have to do is to select the info tab while inside the group.

On this tab you select the bottom all the way at the bottom titled "Members". If you select the Members tab you'll be able to spot that familiar plus sign in the top right corner of the screen. Simply tab it and then select the contacts you'd like to add to your group and click done.

If you look around this overview of the members and admins you'll notice a third tab titled "Pending". This tab is especially relevant to admin of private groups as this is the place where you can either accept or reject people who have asked to join your group.

How to Post in a Group

Before you can begin to post you'll have to navigate to the Debates tab. Here you'll find a text field with the text "Make a debate ..." already typed in.

Simply click that text field to initiate your post. At this point you can start writing your post. 

Additionally, you can either attach a video or photo. Alternatively, you can imbed a Youtube or Vimeo clip by selecting the "Add Youtube/Vimeo" option. Regardless of whether you choose to attach your own video or imbed a Youtube or Vimeo video others will be able to view it would leaving the Ziik app. 

All that there's left to do when you've written your post and attached your media files is to click "Send" in the top right hand corner. Your post has now been posted.

How to Edit / Delete Group Posts

Let us assume that you have just started a new debate. After doing so you realise that you have made a mistake, perhaps you have misspelt something or your contribution is factually wrong. In either case, there is no reason to worry since you will be able to either edit or even delete your post within 15 minutes of posting it.

Here is how you manage your group posts it:

  1. Select the group post that you would like to delete.
  2. Click the three dots ("...") in the top right-hand corner.
  3. Select the appropriate option from the menu.

Now, here is how you manage your comments on group posts:

  1. Open the group post on which you have previously commented.
  2. Press and hold the comment you would like to either edit or delete.
  3. Select the appropriate option from the menu.

An important thing to keep in mind is that once 15 minutes have passed you will no longer be able to remove or edit your post. This is for the sake of continuity, i.e. to avoid breaking up ongoing debates and to ensure that earlier debates remain intact.

There is one exemption from this rule. If you are the group administrator you will be able to delete both your own posts as well as those of others at any point in time. Thus, should you find yourself in a situation where you need to delete one of your posts after the 15 minutes have passed you should try to contact an administrator and ask him to delete it for you.

Please be aware that you will not be able to edit or delete comments using Ziik's mobile application. To do this you will need to use the desktop application.

What's next?

Groups are a powerful communication tool that allow you to communicate effectively across your entire organisation. It's, however, important to understand when you should use a group instead of the chat or news posts. To gain some intuition as to when which mean of communication is most appropriate we'd recommend you our best practice article How and when best to use Groups.

Furthermore, we'd recommend you to read our article on the news feed feature, titled How does My Feed work, since the group function is closely tied in with it.

Feel free to read about Groups works on Desktop device by reading this article How does Groups work (Desktop).

 

Did this answer your question?